Results 1 to 26 of 26

Thread: Emag electronics

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bryant Arkansas
    Posts
    31

    Post Emag electronics

    A few months ago I got a Emag
    The gun works great on mechanical mode but the electronics are not working.
    I've messed around with a volt o meter and the battery is working fine and the connecting from the battery to the conecters are good but the guns electronics are still not firing up.
    Any ideas or thoughts would be helpful.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    If there's a chance you have Xmod firmware, check to make sure that your trigger magnet isn't set too close to the HES as that will prevent the board from booting up as a safety measure.

    Other than that, it's a pretty hard thing to troubleshoot. Might be better off sending it out to Tuna or OneSelfLost for repair and tuning.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Halifax, N.S., Canada
    Posts
    7,444
    Quote Originally Posted by Justus View Post
    If there's a chance you have Xmod firmware, check to make sure that your trigger magnet isn't set too close to the HES as that will prevent the board from booting up as a safety measure.
    Its not just X-mod firmware that causes this. The AGD firmware also does this.


    Make sure the magnet can get far enough forward to allow the HES to reset. Make sure the magnet isn't in backwards.
    Except for the Automag in front, its usually the man behind the equipment that counts.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bryant Arkansas
    Posts
    31
    How could I identify what firmware the Mag has??

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    831
    Make sure the ground screw that goes through the circuit board is clean and screwed all the way in and making good contact with the board and that the hole it threads into is also clean.

  6. #6
    If the electronics are screwed up, you can also contact "OneSelfLost" - he can probably fix it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bryant Arkansas
    Posts
    31
    Thanks guys
    I'll be working on my mag later today
    I'll keep the thread updated

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by athomas View Post
    Its not just X-mod firmware that causes this. The AGD firmware also does this.
    Didn't realize that. Learn something new every day, right?

    Quote Originally Posted by TimberlineShoot View Post
    How could I identify what firmware the Mag has??
    You get it to boot up, and it will tell you by scrolling across the screen.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nickless Cage View Post
    If the electronics are screwed up, you can also contact "OneSelfLost" - he can probably fix it
    See my first reply for the name drop and the link.



    Additionally, make sure that the HES is installed correctly. I once bought a "broken" Emag for dirt cheap because it didn't work in e-mode. All I had to do was put the HES in its slot going the correct direction, and it worked like a champ. TK did a quick series of videos on the Emag assembly and disassembly - they're on YouTube and listed in one of the sticky posts at the top of the Tech forum. Check those out and that will help explain and help you do a lot of troubleshooting.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bryant Arkansas
    Posts
    31
    HES is hul effect system right?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bryant Arkansas
    Posts
    31
    When the led screen lights up it says AGD 1.37 what does that mean?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ocala, Florida
    Posts
    1,283
    that's the software version you have .... AGD (stock) version 1.37

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by TimberlineShoot View Post
    HES is hul effect system right?
    Hall Effect Sensor, IIRC.

    Quote Originally Posted by TimberlineShoot View Post
    When the led screen lights up it says AGD 1.37 what does that mean?
    So you got it to boot up apparently? Does it work okay? If not, what are your symptoms?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bryant Arkansas
    Posts
    31
    I got the electronics to boot up right but my job pulled me away from thegun so I'll find out how it truly work later tonight
    Thanks for all the help guys I'll keep the thread updated on how its going

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bryant Arkansas
    Posts
    31
    So I got the board to boot up and there's air in the gun but when I put it on electronic mode and pull the trigger the gun won't fire but when I put it on mechanical mode it fires any thoughts?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sunny Florida- Woot!
    Posts
    4,753
    What is the output on the battery?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bryant Arkansas
    Posts
    31
    I'm recharging it at the moment but a week ago when we were testing it we were getting almost 18 out of it

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sunny Florida- Woot!
    Posts
    4,753
    do a full charge on it. Leave it on for a good 10-15 hours and see what happens with air and a full battery.

  18. #18
    If it's not shooting in E-mode now, you may have adjusted the trigger magnet too far back from the HES, so it can't pick up the magnetic field. Here's a good link on proper trigger adjustment: http://www.zakvetter.com/pages/paint...g_trigger.html

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    445
    The short version: You can easily test if the trigger magnet is too far back by powering up and putting your allen wrench between the trigger and the HES. If it goes off then you need to dial it in. But since it'll make it a larger magnet it'll make a larger magnetic field so you'll have to dial it in a little further than when you test fire. Or remove the wrench when you test fire to check the activation distance.
    Forest Gump of paintball

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bryant Arkansas
    Posts
    31
    OK I did get the electronics working but now my gun is out of tune.
    Any of you guys have tips on doing that?
    Thanks for all the help getting electronics working!

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Halifax, N.S., Canada
    Posts
    7,444
    What kind of out of tune is it? What exactly is it not doing properly?

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bryant Arkansas
    Posts
    31
    To get it chonoed right

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sunny Florida- Woot!
    Posts
    4,753
    Quote Originally Posted by TimberlineShoot View Post
    To get it chonoed right
    Insert an allen key in the velocity adjuster in the back and adjust it accordingly. Using a chrono helps.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bryant Arkansas
    Posts
    31
    OK. Um one last stupid question is there a way to take the ball per second cap off?

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Halifax, N.S., Canada
    Posts
    7,444
    Quote Originally Posted by TimberlineShoot View Post
    OK. Um one last stupid question is there a way to take the ball per second cap off?
    You have to upgrade to a newer version of the software. The best one is a non-AGD program called X-mod.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bryant Arkansas
    Posts
    31
    OK thanks for the help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •