Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Very courios about this....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Bridgeport, CT
    Posts
    1,584

    Very courios about this....

    I was bored and started to wonder what would happen if you filled a co2 tank with n2 or if you filled a n2 tank wit co2?
    [img]Sig image must be under 20k[/img]


    [ Logic Paintball ]


    [ IM ME! ]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    hell
    Posts
    101
    ... cant fill a co2 with nitro (no fill nipple) a nitro tank u can fill with co2 it works and is just a bigger co2 tank...
    If u cant beat them.... cheat



    Ryan
    ISR

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Bridgeport, CT
    Posts
    1,584
    Ok, thanks.
    I was just wondering.....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Birmingham (Paintball Quest)
    Posts
    121
    i too have wondered this


    and could u switch the heads on a co2 and h2 tank



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Brookline, MA
    Posts
    3,752
    most co2 tanks are rated for 1800psi i believe.
    My Feedback

    "Game...Blouses"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Detroit South (aka Windsor)
    Posts
    74
    I've read of people putting regs on CO2 tanks and using them as 1800 PSI air tanks (I believe that's the max rated working pressure for most/all paintball CO2 tanks, anything higher would be asking for the tank to blow up in your face).

    As for using air tanks for CO2, it wasn't unusual a few years ago to run a 68 or 88 fibre tank filled with CO2 on Shockers because they're such gas hogs. I can't recall exactly how many ounces a 68 cubic inch tank will hold, but it's considerably more than a 20oz tank. You just can't switch back and forth between CO2 and air in a fibre tank, because the chilled CO2 can cause the fibre to delaminate from the inner metal tank, causing an explosion hazard when the tank is filled to 3000+ psi.
    Usually around. Usually silent.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,737
    i think a 68 ci tank is supposed to hold 33 ounces.
    [img] Insert URL [/img] AO Feedback
    Email:Torbothebarbarian@hotmail.com
    Aim: Torbo3rb

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pissin on your steps, Shelton, CT
    Posts
    4,140
    I would think eventually that co2 would bust the o rings in N2 regs...or the 'seals' if you prefer.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Luke AFB AZ, Suburb of Hell
    Posts
    1,862
    ive been "told" ... (ie take this as seriously as you want)

    that once you put CO2 in a HPA tank you basicly just screwed the pooch on it and bought yourself a 400 dollar Co2 tank as it has a chance to perminatly screw up how the tank can reliably store HPA

    AFTICA 4 Life! the low rent (unsponsored) AGD team at IAO
    Team Sandbaggers: 2k4 Texball Champs of the world!

    SFL Emag
    RTP abomination
    Sydarm + scenario project VM-68 to be featured later.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    4028.104'N 7949.208'W
    Posts
    6,229
    Ed, It has to do with the temp changes. Chilling and warming a fiber wrapped HPA tank will cause the aluminum liner to pull away from the fiber. Just not a good thing to do.

    There was a trick when HPA first came out to add a little CO2 to your HPA fill.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    100
    fiber wrapped tanks really should be made with titanium liners instead of aluminum.
    unlike aluminum, titanium expands and contracts at very nearly the same rate as carbon fiber, taking care of the delamination problem.
    too bad Ti is so spendy huh.
    If your body is really wierd, try showing it to people in the streets for money.-Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, Tips for aliens in New York, Surviving

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •