PDA

View Full Version : Ninth Circuit court of Appeals Vs. California Democracy

Albinonewt
09-16-2003, 11:32 AM
Ninth Circuit (http://www.cnn.com/2003/ALLPOLITICS/09/11/davis.recall.ap/index.html)

Now, for those of you that don't know, the ninth circuit court of appeals doesn't use the same Constitution that the rest of the country does. They are overturned nearly everytime they even bother to speak. No matter what you think of their decisions there is no denying that they are almost always found to be incorrect by the Supreme Court.

And now they're buying the ACLU's arguement that these machines are so terrible and so antiquated that they literally cannot be used, and that using them will destroy the earth. Funny thing about that is, nobody was complaining about the machines less then a year ago when they elected Davis. But the same machines that were accurate enough to re-elect him are no longer accurate enough to throw him out.

I'm not a big proponent of the recall the way that it was done, but it is part of the California Constitution, so there's no complaining about it's legality. So it should happen, and it should happen in a fair manner (not on the same ballot as the Democratic primary, if Davis supporters can't be bothered to go to the polls then they don't care enough to elect the governor)

I'm curious to see if the Supreme Court gets involved. They didn't for NJ's little problem with Torecelli last election, so I'm wondering if they just let this one fly by them like they did before.

Jack_Dubious
09-16-2003, 12:07 PM
All the times ive voted in So. California, theyve always used the voting machine that consisted of a punch card, a tablet that held the card in place and a punch/stylus that you use to select your choice. Im not sure if they use different types of machines in other parts of california....but how the hell can a punch card system become old and defective?!?!

JDub

Albinonewt
09-16-2003, 12:18 PM