PDA

View Full Version : Small Minimag Leak

Maffer
11-02-2003, 07:18 PM
Hi guys, I recently bought a minimag from a guy who hardly knew anything about automags, and wasn't any help at all so I'm hopeing someone here can help me. My minimag has a classic valve with a shocktech uprade regulator body. When I gas up the gun, there is a small leak out the back, from the best I can tell it comes out the reg nut. The gun also came with the regulat automag classic regulator body and I changed it with the shocktech one, and I get the same problem. Regulator seat is in perfect condition and I have read the manual and cannot figure out what is wrong... and help would be very much appreciated.

Maffer
11-02-2003, 07:21 PM
I am also useing HPA, and I'm not sure if I have a HP piston assembaly. Anyone know how I could find out? thanks

silentdeath55
11-02-2003, 08:07 PM
Welcome to AO! I had this same problem with my mag. The AIR valve has an integrated regulator and will vent out the back if the internal pressure is to high. You said you had a shocktech valve or something and I have never heard of that, but they probably have basically the same internal concepts, so that is most likely your problem. Try oiling all of your o-rings nad see if that helps at all. If not its probably just venting.

As for the piston, are you talking about the HPA tank, or the piston in the valve. If you talking about the one in the valve, you should be able to see it if you unscrew the valve from the reg body. Stuck in the valve should be a little metal thing with a spring on it, that is the reg piston.

Maffer
11-02-2003, 08:38 PM
Basicly the Shocktech regulator body I have is an aluminum 8 hole to allow more air flow. The piston I was talking about is on the gun itself, and I know it is there and works fine, but in the manual it says something about a HP piston assy. I have no idea what that is or if thats what I have.