PDA

View Full Version : Smart Parts Patent Will Destroy Paintball! - Read!

Pages : [1] 2 3

WickedAirSportz
07-21-2003, 06:13 PM
Smart Parts broadended their patent, and it was revised in January. The patent is very broad. The patent covers ANY paintball marker that has an on/off switch. This means Spyders with electronic triggers, Intimidators, Angels, Matrices, Bushmasters, and anything else with a battery will be in violation of Smart Parts' patent.

On Friday, a judge approved Smart Parts' request to proceed with their lawsuit for patent infringements. On September 3rd, a trial will begin. This is moving very quickly.

As a patent consultant myself, and can not understand how the patent can be granted, as it will impede technology, which is one of the things that a patent can never do.

Smart Parts is rumored to want a million dollar signing fee, and $75 per unit sold for a royalty fee.

I would recommend contacting Smart Parts and expressing your concern.

Darkling
07-21-2003, 06:20 PM
Ok, I'm really lost here (I guess I've been playing stock class for too long). How does Smart Parts have the right to do this?

PsychoBaller
07-21-2003, 06:21 PM
Cough..... screw SmartParts.... cough....

~da "never liked them anyways" baller

magman007
07-21-2003, 06:23 PM
Jim, apparently you are worried about this as well, I appreciate your concern and letting us know. You know the power of the AO army, and i think combined with others concerns expressed to SP and the eventual boycott of sp, wel cna convince them to give it the hell up.

SP has money, and if they were to sue AGD and tie them up, that could mean some big financial troubles.

the funny thing is, AGD has the first ever Electronic marker, again, they never patented it, but they could show previous art

JT2002
07-21-2003, 06:24 PM