PDA

View Full Version : Pumps and AO

Quickling
02-16-2004, 11:48 AM
Being an anthropology major, I sometimes find the demographis of a site interesting...

I frequent many boards, and compared to all other 'semi-auto boards' AO has by far the greatest amount of pump players and new-to-pump players.

I find this wonderful and odd. For one thing, its not like AO is composed solely of players who started when the pump was the only gun.

So I am now curious, what makes mag players more willing to pick up a pump than other players.

A personal example: I started playing with a PGP and a mini-mag. Ordered both before I started playing... still have the PGP and miss the minimag. But now i mostly play pump.

breg
02-16-2004, 12:02 PM
I don't frequent a lot of boards, infact this is the only one I'm registered at.
I thik it has a lot to do with some of the older players telling the younger ones what a joy it is to use a pump. And, like you said, there are a lot of pump players here. Hell, they got me thinking about buying a Phantom...
But, seriously, I think there is more reverence for "Old School" here than at other forums. That, and there are a lot of open minded people here. Even Tom Kaye said that he owns a couple of WGP snipers.
So maybe, since a lot of members are registered at other forums, they just feel free to talk about them here with people who won't flame with comments like "DuD3 PuMpS R SuXoRs GeT A TiMmIe!!!!" But, instead get something much more positive and easier to read.
So, I guess what i am trying to say is that they might be on other boards, but might not post about pumps.
Another thing is that there is just one Paintball Talk here and it's not really broken up by marker type, with the execption of the Angel Forum.

Just a guess,
Breg

Brophog
02-16-2004, 12:02 PM
So I am now curious, what makes mag players more willing to pick up a pump than other players.