PDA

View Full Version : what's up with smart parts??

rtpro28
02-19-2004, 12:23 PM
i'm kinda new to all this, so why does everyone hate smart parts all of a sudden? i have an smart valve and just wondering if i should take it off or not. what did they do?

fallout11
02-19-2004, 01:17 PM
I'm sure I'll get an arguement from someone about at least some of this, but here goes...

1) Smart parts filed a bunch of "broadly worded" patents. One in particular covers any electronically-operated paintball gun.

2) Smart parts is now engaged in a methodical campaign to enforce its patents, specifically the one on electronically-operated paintball markers.

3) This is accomplished by either asking for royalties/licensing fees (Dye), accompanied with legal threats (ICD), or by actively suing manufacturers (AKA).

4) Eventually, Smart parts will get to everyone, including AGD.

ramenjames
02-19-2004, 01:33 PM
dude i made this thread too
just search for anything that has smartparts and hate in the title

*captain_cox*37
02-19-2004, 02:24 PM
No you dont have to take off ur valve dude. I hope no one will get mad cuz u have a SP valve. Smart Parts is trying to say they have a paten for an electronic marker and they were the first to make one and get a patent for it and are trying to sue all companies that have a electronic marker. Pretty lamo.

hardr0ck68
02-19-2004, 02:34 PM
yeah i always hated BE as corperate paintball, now i prey they stand up and flex their muscles to stop SP. You dont have to take their valve off, just please dont go out and buy a shocker or freak and support the jerk offs.

rtpro28
02-19-2004, 03:24 PM
sounds like the rich trying to get richer, the easy way. does anybody not sue now adays. it's a little scary. but by the way, what is a good backup gun to carry. right now i have an rt pro,with intelli, dye boomstick, revi, mini shocteck drop, and pure energy 68-3k. just looking for a back up. and anything else for the rt pro??

JesseB
02-19-2004, 03:31 PM