PDA

View Full Version : Dyeing Halo Shell

gdog441
03-09-2004, 03:06 PM
Hey, I have a clear halo shell, and its illegal in a league to use clear cause its hard to see a hit on it. Anyways, can somebody just explain to me exactly how I would dye it. Obviously take all the internals of the hopper out, but what kind of dye? Do I heat it up? I've never done this before but I have seen kids who said they have dyed their hoppers.

LeatherPants
03-09-2004, 03:11 PM
Got to the local drug store or arts and craft store. Buy RIT dye. Follow instructions simple as that. If you can boil water and stir you can do this.

BUT one thing is that you'll have to repeat it a couple times. Halo shells don't take color as easy as Evo II shells. You just have to be patient.

swanster
03-09-2004, 04:29 PM
Just throw a hopper cover on it.

yeah but if he plays tournys then it is illegal

-=Squid=-
03-09-2004, 04:30 PM
I thought an odyssey rep said that you cant rit dye halo shells? If you can I need to make a call to a teammate... :eek:

crewbe
03-09-2004, 04:43 PM
i saw this a few month ago on impulseownersgroup.com it is a in depth directions on how to do it http://www.impulseownersgroup.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13838&highlight=RIT+coloring+egg
they are not my dirctions they come from someone named wicked impulse off of IOG. i have not tired so ur on your own

Ok, i said i would do make this for people that maybe don't want to settle with clear or black eggolutions. Here you guys go:

First off, this method will give a kind of transparent colored finish that resembles the colored halos, so if you don't like that, don't do this.

Step One: Go to the store and get your desired color of dye. I would recommend RIT laundry dye. i have used it on many lacrosse heads and it works great for this too.

Step Two: Take apart your CLEAR evolution and only worry about the shells with the dying.