PDA

View Full Version : Stars?

tooslow
09-26-2001, 09:10 PM
Hi, I'm kinda new to Mags, so please excuse my ignorance. But what is the significance of the number of stars on the valve? I am in the market for a used mag and I keep seeing "1 star on valve", "3 stars on valve"... and I don't have the foggiest what the difference is.

BTW, this forum is great. I have learned more about mags in 2 days than I was able to learn about cockers in 3 months.

Miscue
09-26-2001, 09:13 PM
A Star w/o a notch represents how many free services you have left from AGD.

Load SM5
09-26-2001, 09:13 PM
The number of stars represent how many free repairs you get from AGD before you start paying for them. Send the gun end for a repair and they mill off a star.

Load SM5
09-26-2001, 09:14 PM
I just type fast enough for this forum.:mad:

tooslow
09-26-2001, 09:19 PM
Thanks guys. So, the number of stars has nothing to do with the performance of the valve? I guess maybe that's why a "classic" mag is so much cheaper than a regular mag.

Load SM5
09-26-2001, 09:29 PM
No there's no real performance difference.

Let us know when you find a mag you might be interested in and we'll let you know what we think about the deal. If there's one thing we all have a crap load off, it's opinions.:D

Stay away from aftermarket valves and guys who claim to have done trigger jobs. Aside from the retro-valve the stock valve is the best and there is no such thing as a good trigger job to a mag. Usually trigger jobs involve grinding down things that should'nt be ground down and while they may make the trigger feel lighter it will usually wear down your gun quickly.

tooslow
09-26-2001, 09:59 PM
Thanks for the advice. I'll be sure to come back for more as I get closer to a decision.

DRAGONSLAYER
09-27-2001, 12:20 PM
Yeah! What Load SM5 Said-crap laod!!:D

krafty
09-27-2001, 12:42 PM
By the way, tooslow...

welcome to the group! Glad to have you here.

tooslow
09-27-2001, 08:49 PM