PDA

View Full Version : Is it safe to cut a bullet?

Dubstar112
04-11-2004, 04:54 PM
Is it safe to cut a bullet with a hand pipe cutter? The kind you clamp tighter and score radialy?(cuting mid shell.)

I want to take the tip out of a 50 cal (LIVE AMMO!) and get rid of the powder.

sharpshooter1286
04-11-2004, 05:01 PM
i want to say no, but i really want to say ne thing because i am in no way sure. this is really somethin u would wanna be 100% sure about tho..

Dubstar112
04-11-2004, 05:03 PM
uhh too late. curiosity got a hold of me. I cut it. no problems, I was sure to go slow to avoid any heat. What do I do with a handfull of powder now :)? lol .... opps

Fred
04-11-2004, 05:03 PM
I'm NOT an expert... and as such I'd call a gunsmith and ask...

I would NOT try to cut it with anything... with the right tool you should probably be able to pull the bullet right out of the casing.

It'd be worth your life to pay a gunsmith or someone who knows how to load ammo to do it for you... you need to remove the primer from the casing as well.

---Fred

Archangel Kid
04-11-2004, 05:06 PM
why don't you just go on ebay like my dad =D... My dad used to buy casings and then the bullets for 50 cal. gun, Granted they were dummy rounds and his 50 cal. is blocked. but its still cool to see the rounds going into the 50 cal. when its on his duece 1/2.

Cryer
04-11-2004, 05:16 PM
Use an acetylene torch

Dubstar112
04-11-2004, 05:17 PM
Originally posted by Cryer
Use an acetylene torch

:p

http://img2.imageshack.us/img2/2599/Bullit.jpg

trains are bad
04-11-2004, 06:14 PM
Go to a gunshow, get all the empty shells and bullets you want.

OR

Take it to a gunsmith, have him pull the bullet. Remember, You still have the primer in thier then which needs to be fired in order to have a dummy!

I don't understand how you cut it either.

The best thing to do with the powder is take it out and burn it.

Dubstar112
04-11-2004, 06:36 PM
Who are you callin a dummy?(:p)