PDA

View Full Version : brand new to paintball and automags

Dave
10-03-2001, 02:09 PM
hi everyone, my name is David or Dave, and I am brand new to paintballing, I mean like I just got really interested in it in the past week! My friend plays for fun and kept telling me it would be great for me to do it, and now I think I'm hooked!
I have not even bought a gun or anything yet. I think I was attracted to automags before I even got into it cause I heard of them when I was looking up some paintball stuff online, so I think that an Automag would be right for me. I have been doing a lot of research, have learned a lot of things, and still have a lot of questions that maybe some of you more knowledgable paintballers will know. So far, this is kind of a brief summary of what I have found:

1. Different brands such as Angel, Autococker, Spyder, and Automag. I like the Automag.
2. Automags have other brands that make parts for them like DYE and Benchmark.
3. Automags will freeze up with CO2 unless using an expansion chamber.
4. Mags can be used with Revvys(Revolution?) the thing that stirs up the paintballs in the hopper.
5. Mags could chop balls if you don't pull trigger all the way through(only with standard feed?)
6. The standard bolt might pop paintballs so go with an ANS Venturi bolt
7. Nitro is good
8. In paintball games, a person found wiping the paintball marks off them will gain a reputation as a cheater.

If any of that stuff is wrong, please correct me. And also I have a ton of questions:

1. What is the difference between Standard Feed and Powerfeed?
2. What is a nubbin on a barrel? I heard if it is messed up it will pop painballs.
3. What some of the best barrels for Automags and do you have to buy a specific paint type to go with the barrel?
4. What is a two piece barrel and is it any better?
5. What is a retro valve and sear? Does it have anything to do with the rate of fire?
6. What is a remote or coiled remote? I kept hearing you need one of those.