PDA

View Full Version : Electro frame question

NeoMoses
04-26-2004, 02:10 AM
I'll state this in the beginning: I'm not very good with electronics. With that being said, I wonder why a 'board' is necessary when making an electronic gun. Why can't one use a simple circuit with a battery, capacitor, solenoid, microswitch, and on/off switch to fire the solenoid? I have made simple circuits like this, putting the on/off switch between the battery and capacitor, then the trigger switch between the capacitor and solenoid. It worked fine. Is the board there to filter out the bounce? I didn't notice any bounce with the circuit I had, but I wasn't really pushing it. Can someone shed some light on this?

Joni
04-26-2004, 09:00 AM
I guess it's possible to have a simple circuit like that, but I think the reason for using boards is the ability to have shot buffering, debounce setting, eye capability, different modes, intellifeed, timer, shot counter etc. You know, all those useless things that angels has =).

tribalman
04-26-2004, 10:25 AM
i think part of the board is to filter the electricity going to the capacitor and the solinoid. and the rest is the angel thingy.

Wynken
04-26-2004, 10:48 AM
I've been thinking about making a board like that for a while. I don't think it would take much. I think that one of the things that the board does is take a trigger input that's X ms long and turn it into one that is exactly what the gun needs to fire. In a circuit like that if you held down the trigger the solenoid would stay open and eat batteries. It also might overheat, I'd think.

I think it could definately be done though.

JoyInTheMadness
04-26-2004, 11:33 AM
NPPL Rules state that a electronic gun cannot be governed by an on/off switch.

Wynken
04-26-2004, 12:28 PM
What kind of switch can they be governed by? I guess I don't understand your post because don't all electro guns have a on/off switch governing when they fire?

Fixion
04-26-2004, 01:00 PM