PDA

View Full Version : Career Question: Road and Track....?

mjs1217
04-28-2004, 06:53 PM
Recently, I've been thinking a little about my future career...
Basically, I'd definitly take an okay-paying job that I have fun in over a well-paying job that I hate. Things I hate include:
Sitting behind a desk ALL day
Having an executive-type job in a large, impersonal corporation (Think Office Space)
And all things like that.

However, there's not much I like that I currently know of. Some things that I like that can possibly be made into a career inclde:
Cars
I.T. (however, IT job's can easily lead to sitting behind a desk all day...)

Also, I love to write, and I've been told i'm really good at it. On my last standerdized writing test, i scored a 5.5 out of a maximum of 6.0, and my teachers say that I'm a great writer. (By the Way, i'm 15 years old)

So, while sitting at my computer today, I got to thinking about a job as an editor (writer) for a magazine like Road and Track, Motor Trend, Car and Driver, or something along those lines. But I have alot of questions about this, so please try to answer them as best you can.

I doubt anyone would know this, but to get a job at a magazine like those mentioned above, would I need alot of experience writing for smaller magazines and/or newspapers? If so, how much?
If I were to get a job at a national auto magazine as an editor, how much do you think it would pay my first year? After about 10 years?
And lastly, does anyone here have any friends or family who hold such a job? If you could get them to describe an average work day/week for me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
-mjs

xmetal2001
04-28-2004, 09:11 PM
Seems like it would be a hard job to get. Its everyone's dream job to drive expensive cars real fast and get payed for it.

dj89
04-28-2004, 10:36 PM