PDA

View Full Version : On the Soap box Presents...

punkncat
04-29-2004, 04:05 PM
...me rambling about my experiance with markers.

I see all these threads posted around about which marker is better than the other. Whats popular right now , whats fastest.

I have been playing paintball for about 4 years now. I know that is merely a blink compared to some of the experiance out there, but give me some credit. I play as often as possible , in every different type of game I have been able to find. Speedball,Hyperball,Sup Air,Urban,Woodsball,Renegade,Scenarios,Tournaments you name it.
I play so often that my wifes wonders what I am married to sometimes,her or the sport. Its not like it makes me a living....

Anyway to get back on track.
When I started out I got myself a Spyder clone that broke my first game. Went and got a Tippy. Went and bought many more Spyders(and the like) and threw so much money at them it was embarrasing. Changed over to electro frames so I could sling paint with the "good" players....
Much disappointing performance later,I finally made the decision to invest in a quality marker.

I had been (and still do) a lot of reading online about paintball, and its history. Not really the names and places but more what was being used. What equipment did you see time and time again? What was standing the test of time?
In this quest you see a lot of names come and go. Names like Angel,Timmy, Trix , Impy , Bushy. I am sure everyone has experianced the hype about "having" to own one of those markers at that moment. Certainly not trying to say that any of those markers aren't quality equipment, just hear me out.

So as I looked around I kept seeing two names. Autococker and Automag.
These were two markers that have always been revered as good equipment by all types of players. I went out and got myself one of each of them. I used the cocker and I gave the mag to my wife.