PDA

View Full Version : No More Non-WGP Cockers?

Chojin Man
05-07-2004, 11:49 AM
From what I took from the article they are trying to stop the sale of all "knockoff" cockers. K2 is claiming that the cocker design is their "acquired intellectual property" since they bought WGP(duh). So what kind of cockers is this going to appy too?

acticle.
here (http://www.paintballstar.com/pn/modules.php?op=modload&name=PagEd&file=index&page_id=179&POSTNUKESID=f7073be81495780abd52194ff607edc6)

The Action Figure
05-07-2004, 11:52 AM
this in turn means that only good plastic cockers will be made :D ;) :cool: :)

Dayspring
05-07-2004, 11:53 AM
Means unless System X is using WGP bodies, they're not going to be making cocker knock-offs. Same goes for National Paintball's version.

Deep Sixx
05-07-2004, 11:54 AM
I'm not a lawyer by any means, but seeing as how WGP didn't invent it, I don't see how they can claim ownership.

sixx

Cryer
05-07-2004, 11:54 AM
K2 Inc. looks forward to continuing WGP’s long-standing relationships with responsible custom product manufacturers. Bud Orr reiterated, “Our company wants to make sure that players have the opportunity to experience genuine Autococker brand markers including those from our approved custom manufacturers.”

So likely, FF, Planet Eclipse, and the like will still have their custom house lines. I think they're mainly talking about clones. CCM might have to change a few things. Dragun, too.

Chojin Man
05-07-2004, 11:57 AM
I'm not a lawyer by any means, but seeing as how WGP didn't invent it, I don't see how they can claim ownership.

sixx

Then who did?

Fred
05-07-2004, 12:00 PM
Glenn Palmer invented pneumatic automation for paintball markers...

Bud just implemented it on his Sniper pump marker and marketed the heck out of it.

Palmer stuck with his own thing, quality custom markers, Typhoon, Blazer, etc...

Yay, maybe now Sys-X's POS markers will get pulled from the market... they're junk.

---Fred

Cryer
05-07-2004, 12:02 PM