PDA

View Full Version : Engineers & Electricians & Machinist Look Here Please

rifleman
10-07-2001, 07:24 AM
Hi!

This is my senior year and I'm in a bit of struggle to decide what my major is going to be. So if there's any of the three listed, please just give me a little job description about what you do, work enviroment, wages (only if you want), etc...

Thanks!

Shaft
10-08-2001, 10:29 AM
Electrical/RF Engineer:
I design car parts.
Schematic and printed circuit board layout for RF receivers and transmitters. Must design for customer's specifications, FCC rules and regulations, as well as manufacturability, durability, low cost and EMC.
Fun factor: It's all right. Interesting.
Fund factor: The cost of an emag is not that oppresive anymore.
Comments: I know how things work that probably should just be considered magic. Oh well. It's all in part of my quest to rule the world.

Hope this helps
r

ShinyGuy
10-08-2001, 07:24 PM
Machinist/mech engineer

I make small quantities of parts. Mostly prototype stuff for the tel-com and biotech industries. Its pretty fun as long as we're making interesting stuff. I like it because there's alot of thinking and some real work with my hands. There's definately a thrill of seeing a finished part that you don't get looking at the computer simulation. I'd never be able to do production machining though. Can't stand just making hundreds of the same part.

If you're going to go for either machining or engineering get some education in both. The best engineers are the ones that understand how a part is going to be made. I've seen plenty of designs that cost twice as much as they need to just because the designer didn't really understand the basics of machining. Its a big plus to understand how the things you're building work. It gives you a much better idea of what's importand and what isn't.

steveg
10-08-2001, 08:13 PM
Mechanical Engineering Technologist

its a diploma rather than a degree. less theory more