PDA

View Full Version : The Skill Gap (ohh yes its long)

GT
05-29-2004, 02:58 PM
Background:
I have been playing for about 5 years now. I started playing in the woods at a really small feild. I, ofcourse, did the typical nnob steps from spyders to tippys to mags. The sametime I started playing woods I began playing speedball and love it. Played one local tourney and one first place.

Fast foward to AO-Txball. I took four guns with me up to DFW with me; Emag, RTP, Works Cocker, and a classic mag. I got the emag flashed, its a buds emag here in houston, and then proceeded to play a few games. I went up to DFW with full intetions to prove something to myself, I didnt need a firepower crutch to get elims. So for the remainder of the weekend I played solely with my classic mag, only mods are a 2x benchy and a ULT.

When I came back to houston, playing with and aganist some great guys on AO, my game had improved. So much so I sold my whole fleet of markers and purchased an RTP a month ago from tuna. Even with the RTP I still do pretty dam well, not to say its muppet mowing machine like an e/x.... but I was pulling more than enough guys off the feild.

The Skill Gap
Here is the problem, when I go out to play I dont get my moneys worth anymore. Meaning, for the most part, that Rec is not paying off for me in terms of increasing skill level.

As I can see it the only way I will get better is to jump into the tourney circuit, read here NOT CHEAP. Problem is I am not sure if I want to take paintball to that level yet. My big concern is burnout and being unable to enjoy paintball. TO be perfectly honest I could sell my viking, I dont even have yet, and play the rest of my rec days with a classic mag.

The Point
I have been struggling with this notion for a few weeks now and I didnt want to post on AO in fear of sounding like an e-badass. I would really like some advice from guys who have been playing for 5+ years on what they do to keep the game fun and challenging.

kosmo