PDA

View Full Version : Befuddled, help

vogle
06-03-2004, 02:03 PM
I'm quite new to mags. I've owned one for three whole weeks.

I bought a brand spanking new RT Custom - blue ULE body, Ygrip, x-valve, ULT , and lvl10 , and wow was I happy - for two games.

Starting my third game with the marker, and at a big scenario game at that, I suddenly had this happen:

The marker was 'factory tuned' for shims and spacers and carreirs. I had dialed it down to 250fps for indoor the week before, started chronoing at 350. Several turns down, still 350. Suddenly, i started to leak, and blow oil out the back of the marker.

Lovely. Strip down the marker, the regulator piston O-ring is nicked, somehow. Ok, swap it out, put the valve back in, gun charges up, fires once, and then the valve doesn't recharge.

Strip it down again. Check the reg seat, reg seat oring, powertube oring, carrier oring, all good. Reassemble, and gas er up.....

oh. Now i'm leaking down the barrel. I look in and when i apply gas, the bolt is moveing forward abotu 1/2". I can push it back with my finger, though. When I do , the leak stops, but the marker still never charges. Can't fire, no pressure on the trigger.

i followed the instructions in BlackVCGs RT Valve disassembly thread, replaced everything I can find... no idea what to do. The factory tune came with 3 shims in each place - 3 shims in the on-off, and 3 in the power tube area.

Any ideas/thoughts? I'm no mag expert, maybe i'm missing something, but I can't figure it out.... ready to cry at my aluminium doorstop that was, until sunday past, the nicest marker i ever fired.....

ChrisRT
06-03-2004, 02:07 PM
Did you turn the velocity back up after putting it back together?

vogle
06-03-2004, 02:15 PM
Yes, I did turn the velocity back up. I also borrow a 3-way setup and checked the input pressure into the marker from my N2 tank. I'm inputting at 790. Should definitely be enough to charge the trigger.