PDA

View Full Version : why the bad blood

frontrunner
06-24-2004, 07:55 PM
I am pretty new to the mag world however, I have been playing paintball for many years now and it is no secret there is some bad blood between some mag and cocker people. I am just wondering if anyone knows why. I am a psych major so spare me the “people are ignorant” stuff. I just wonder if I there was an event of something of that nature that started it or if the different nature of the 2 guns attracts 2 different styles of player. I know its dumb because many people own both mags and cockers but I am just interested in a little history if anyone knows it

coolcatpete
06-24-2004, 07:57 PM
A long time ago in the 90's they were both the nicest shooting markers around so they became rivals. There were your mag shooters and then the cocker shooters. I personaly like both so I have both. :shooting:
Pete

shivors
06-24-2004, 07:57 PM
They are both so in awe of the Spyder owners pwnage that they bash each other?

Just a theory.

ronin
06-24-2004, 08:00 PM
i own both personaly but i think it stems form the days when the cocker and mag where the only 2 turny quality markers on the marker ...... kind of sibling rivalry

penguinpunk555
06-24-2004, 08:06 PM
They are both so in awe of the Spyder owners pwnage that they bash each other?

Just a theory.

This made me giggle. I know you love your spyders, but they suck.

The Spanish Inquisition
06-24-2004, 08:39 PM
people enjoy the gratification of knowing that their maker is the "best". It is an ego thing. It also lets them be part of a group. You can see the same thing in almost every "adult toy" market out there. The ford/mopar/chevy rivalry didn't come into it's full glory until the 50's when people began to regularly modify and race street cars. You don't see too many threads debating which is better "COKE or PEPSI" but when people devote a large amout of money and time into something they tend to identify themselves with it .