PDA

View Full Version : Proud newbie XMag Owner, air system advice

erendin
06-28-2004, 05:13 PM
Need some advice.

Finally found & purchased an X-Mag on e-bay, but I'm new to the high-end scene. Have been a CO2 rec player for years and am HP illiterate, but I'm dying to play with this thing. What kind of High Pressure system do i want - do i need an adjustable system, or can i get by with a set pressure tank. Am currently looking at preset Crossfire tanks. I assume a preset tank is OK and the regulator on the back of the gun will bring the air in at the correct operating pressure (manual says between 600 and 1000 psi) AGD no longer producing the Flatline, which had a second guage which i assumed indicated pressure being fed to the gun, but I've heard a removable preset tank is more convenient.

Anybody? Bueller? Anybody?

TDonovan
06-28-2004, 05:18 PM
A preset will work. If you want to go that route (I most likely would), the crossfires are the best choice IMO. I'd personally get a 72ci (cubic inch) 4500psi tank. While the 68ci/45psi tanks are still good, the 72ci tanks are a good choice just in case your field doesn't go quite up to 4500 psi. I think most 72ci's are also stubby, so you can keep your setup short and sweet.

Eskimo Paint Slinger
06-28-2004, 05:22 PM
A preset will work fine just get and HPA not an LPA tank.

Crossfire tanks are well made and I would reccomend that if your goig pre-set.

or

You could buy an adjustable tank, you can control how reactive you gun is this way. I have a Flatline 68/4500 and its very nice. I would not reccomend the dye throttel, I have been hearing alot of bad things about them and mags.

P8ntBallBoom
06-28-2004, 05:22 PM
Depending on your budget, you can get a few different tanks. For high end, I'd go with a Dye Throttle system. If your in mid range, look at a NitroDuck. And if your into a preset, go with Crossfire or PMI. Hope this helps.

I by the way have a flatline 3k. If you can find one, get it!

erendin