PDA

View Full Version : Any potato cannon enthusiasts?

Skoad
08-11-2004, 03:11 AM
I don't get it, for some reason as soon as I try to go to sleep all these weird ideas pop into my head and I can't help thinking about them constantly - making it where I cannot get to sleep.

So here I am again - I have no idea where this came from but all of a sudden in my noggin was a potato cannon!

Now I have never built one of these before, I have seen the hairspray and compressed air. But what came in my head was a little different.

Nice strong steel/iron pipe. Threaded cap at the end with small hole drilled in bottom. Stick a balloon in hole with end sticking out. Hook a nozzle up to it fill it with propane then clamp off the balloon, and remove propane hose and tank. Maybe grease/oil inside of pipe to help potato ejection. Have a potato cut to fit pipe with small gap around it (so it doesn't get stuck). Hook up flame/spark ignition, push button to fire.

What do you think? Too dangerous? Will propane give me some nice *umph*?

xmetal2001
08-11-2004, 03:40 AM
So you have a propane filled balloon in a steel pipe? If the propane is in a balloon, how do you ignite it?

Propane makes a great fuel, its very reliable. However, the problem is that it won't ignite unless you have proper air-fuel mixture.

I think somewhere around 3-9% is the range. Around 4.5 being ideal if i remember correctly.

Skoad
08-11-2004, 04:00 AM
well i was thinking about using something that makes a flame, rather than a spark. not sure what to use yet, that way it'll just burn through the balloon

the other way I was thinking was in the style of a mortor. You have the balloon and everything the same, but instead of the ignition thing you stick a needle and a lit birthday candle in the bottom of the potato and drop it down the tube.

I think it would be way cool like that, but I didn't know how dangerous it would be - wasn't to sure on how propane would handle.

Sparq
08-11-2004, 04:20 PM