PDA

View Full Version : AO's thoughts on the state of paintball

dre1919
08-11-2004, 11:27 AM
Ok, I was thinking about this topic after reading an excellent post by Blennidae located here:

http://www.automags.org/forums/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=1546121

That got me thinking about paintball, where it is now and where it was when I started and I wanted to weigh in on some issues and see what AO thought about them. I've been playing the sport for eleven years now, and I am 28, just for reference sake. I started out playing in 1993 with Splatmaster Rapide pistols in the park (which is illegal) and went on to college. From there, I got into playing rec ball in the woods...renting my Tippmann pump rifle and wearing my camoflauge. Those were some great days back then because we could go down to our local field and play this wonderful sport for around $25 a day. That was it. 500 rounds lasted a long time then because the emphasis of the sport was on stalking, using cover and terrain, and tactics. It was truly an action pursuit sport at that time. Somewhere along the way the semi-auto was introduced and those who wielded it garnered a large share of the power present on the field of play. If you're looking for an example, think about entering a modern battle where your enemy has an AK-47 and you have a twleve gauge shotgun and there you go. Regardless, this was fun as hell.