PDA

View Full Version : Any Engineers Out There?

mjs1217
08-15-2004, 09:23 PM
Being the inquisitive, and sometimes obsessive, person that I am, I'm thinking about a career in engineering, possibly robotics but not sure (The obsessive part is that I'm still a freshman and I'm thinking about 10 years from now). So, can any of you guys please describe an average day for you? For instance, what you usually do at work, if it's mostly fun things (to me, things like trying to solve a problem by using hands-on methods) or mostly paperwork? Who do you work with / for? Does it pay well, or are you underpaid / underappreciated? And overall, do you like your job?

Thanks,
-mjs

Tunaman
08-15-2004, 09:32 PM
You need to talk to Tom. He is the best engineer I have ever met. ;)

brianlojeck
08-16-2004, 01:01 AM
First, my "resume".

I personally am a Network Administrator/Engineer. I do design work, maintenance work, repair work, etc... on computer networks. I am attending school to be an Electrical Engineer.

My wife is an Aerospace Engineer with Boeing. She worked with the Space Shuttle program, and currently works on the mid-range, ship-launched missle defense system (I forget the name). Her team is specifically dedicated to the control software for the Kill Vehicle carried by the rocket.

I have, in my carrer, worked with software, hardware, space, air, mechanical, and many other types of engineers. I have shaken hands with Jon Postel. Most of my friends are engineers by training if not by career.

Here's my take on it:

Engineering school is about the only worthwhile type of education found in 4-year schools in my opinion. It is the only degree that truly teaches you to think and solve and work problems in your head.

It combines a strong basis in "memorized skills" such as math, with a strong basis in more practical skills, such as physics (using the math to figure out what's really going on.)