PDA

View Full Version : Wierd email while sellin on eBay -- Fraud?!? Take a look...

Stimulation
08-23-2004, 01:10 PM
I am sellin this motorcycle here on ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2487867086

and take a look at the question I was asked. Is this a fraud?:

" I Am an automobile agent based in WestAfrica ,one of my client recently placed a quote on your type of vehicle,he informed me that the payment will be remmited through a cashiers check.Is the price you listed for the item firm?In order to conclude the deal as soon as possible, the cashiers check that will be sent to you will include the money for the sales of your item and the shippers fees for organising a home pick up service from your base down to Africa its new origin.You do not need to worry as my shipping company will come to pick the item up from your base for shipment to Benin in Africa. What I want to clarify is that will you be able to send the shipping charges to the shipping agent in Nigeria through Western Union Money Transfer method as soon as you get and cash the check and you deduct the money for the sales of your item?If you agree to assist in this capacity , send your full name,your address and phone numbers Regards, Abel "

I have heard of frauds like this, just wondering how I could toy with him, am I correct?

datapimp69
08-23-2004, 01:17 PM
YES big fraud..

they just want the money that you send them.

then the cashiers check will bounce.

if you want to toy with them, say, yes but you will wait for the chasiers check to FULLY clear your bank, if it is drawen on a S. afican bank it would take like a mounth to fully clear.

thecavemankevin
08-23-2004, 01:27 PM
full on fraud.....stay away

vf-xx
08-23-2004, 01:31 PM
I've posted this before, but for ideas read up on:

www.419eater.com

Maybe also forward the question to [email protected]

cphilip
08-23-2004, 01:34 PM
Its a fraud and this belongs in Freindly Corner..

Moving there now.

oldsoldier