PDA

View Full Version : venting problem

Nobody
10-26-2001, 01:57 AM
now, this is my first post here, but i am not a newbie or the like. i have had my Mag for 2 years now and my problem has happened 2. once when i was first using it and now just recently.

now, at the Tippmann Challenge, as i was chronoing, i noticed that i was overpressurizing the gun. common problem, and easily fixed. as i was turning it down(stock valve and reg body, with RVA) to get it in the field limits. now, i had nothing. i was either to hot(i fired a shot down range, guessimating that it was about 350+, as i cleared the target range) or it wasn't shooting. yes, i had it on HPA, with no reg in between. this happened the first time i used my Mag(for everywhere that i have seen, everyone has problems with a new Mag), but somehow the problem "fixed" itself, as what happened to me recently. i put down the gun, waiting to take a look at it later.

now, i hadn't looked at it since the Challenge. i did, play with it last weekend. now, after i gassed it up, i had no problems. it wasn't venting and everything was fine.

i understand why it was venting. but, i don't know why it was doing so at the time. especially since i didn't have a problem using it after the venting occured. any thoughts?

Panzerr
10-26-2001, 06:31 AM
Dirt in your air system?

Army
10-26-2001, 08:17 AM
First, welcome to AO!

Hmmm...I am thinking your piston was sticking, or the reg seat had some debris on it. Either way, it's not a permanent problem.:cool:

Nobody
10-26-2001, 03:31 PM
yes and no. i had this happen to me the first time i used it in a game. i had major velocity spikes. i do attribute this up to "Mag freshness".

i don't know if this happens to other people, but every Mag that I know, has a problem the first time you use it in a game. but after that game, it goes away. yes, this could be attributed to new seals, needing time to properly seat themselves, but not now.