PDA

View Full Version : Coping with inconsistency

misenhei
09-10-2004, 10:54 AM
Looking for some insight from all you tourney players out there - how do you deal with the inherently waivering velocity presented by the RT/X valve? I sweat it every time I walk up to the chrono ref, even when I've had to crank the velocity down to 265 to ensure no hot shots. Besides the risk of penalizing my team, I feel I'm missing opportunities when snapshooting or posted up on another player. With the first shot or two being at a different velocity and thus going to a different place than intended...that's a lot of feet and hoppers that remain unpainted.

I've been playing almost exclusively with RTs for the past 4 years. As my abilities improve - I can't help but think this is holding me back. With any other marker, a 20 FPS variance would be unacceptable (to be fair, you do have much more control over it with rhythm - but it's still there). Even with the Emag, DevilMag, and hAir trigger...same song and dance. I don't what to do.

I don't want to set her down, can ya help a brother out?

space_weazel_45
09-10-2004, 10:57 AM
just asking...
are you following proper chrono procedure for rt valves?

misenhei
09-10-2004, 11:10 AM
Of course, and that's exactly my point. Since the velocity differs according to HOW you pull the trigger.....

abunkerer
09-10-2004, 11:34 AM
get a good adjustable hpa system and keep the input at 900+, or get a classic valve, or a gun that uses an inline regulator.
-I know exactly what you are talking about, but In reality the velocity fluctuations are not that bad to cause major shot-to-shot inconsistency, but it is frustrating none the less.

misenhei
09-10-2004, 11:42 AM
Done and Done.

I've tried inputs as low as 500psi (down to where it will not cycle) through 1050psi. I prefer the feel of the higher pressures (950ish), but my ULT is so bouncy I've had to calm it down with just a hair over 600.