PDA

View Full Version : Dirty Dan's "The Different Diameter Conspiracy"

Kodiak
09-30-2004, 10:24 PM
This is a link >>>>Dirty Dan's "The Different Diameter Conspiracy" (http://durtydan.paintballresource.org/www.durtydan.com/ddrar/diffdiam.html)<<<<

THE DIFFERENT DIAMETER CONSPIRACY

What REALLY bugs me is the "requirement" to have different sizes of paint and different sizes of barrel diameters. The rather flawed theory is that you MUST match the diameter of the paint to the inner diameter of the barrel to improve performance. This is what I have coined the Different Diameter Conspiracy. This practice is completely unnecessary. Here's why.

IT JUST DOESN'T MATTER

So long as the paint doesn't roll out the barrel before you fire it and it feeds properly, your barrel inner diameter has little to do with the performance of the paintball. I've been playing since 1984 and I have yet to find any SCIENTIFIC data to the contrary. (Advertisements and claims by manufacturers are NOT scientific data.) I've also consulted with reputable airsmiths. They say the same thing. Matching paint to barrel diameters is not required. Really. Trust me. I wouldn't lie to you, I'm not very good at it. I've done my own testing. I've tried different inner bore sizes,

* of the SAME barrel brand and configuration (i.e. porting, material, length, etc -- with the exception of inner diameter);

* on the SAME marker;

* with the SAME paint;

* at the SAME velocity.

Here's the result: other than the fact I had to adjust velocity when I changed barrels, there wasn't ANY difference in range or accuracy. (The larger the paint, or smaller the bore the more friction you get, therefore it affects the velocity, but that's a matter of a simple adjustment.)

You are now thinking, "Why is there no difference, Dan?"