PDA

View Full Version : sticking bolt?

gulf
10-04-2004, 11:09 PM
I am new to mag's so I might just be over looking something but.
Bought a used mag of ebay. ULE body, minimag valve, LX and benchmark frame, I'm ruining it on CO2. It worked fine for about 500 shots last week then I go to play my first game and I take a couple of shots and I start pissing CO2 out the barrel. I replaced the orings in the on/off and oiled the piss out of everything and it didn't get better, than I started to play with the LX with differnt shims and carriers and now I'm farther off then when I started but I still get some bolt stick after a couple shots that hasn't changed since I had the problem regardless of what I do. Any ideas. thanks

VFX_Fenix
10-05-2004, 02:09 AM
Apparently the ULE body suffers from some Flexing issues, if you tool down your strip screw lightly you should eliminate this problem, at least according to somone on this forum that knows more about this than I do.

gulf
10-05-2004, 02:14 AM
What do you mean by tool down.

VFX_Fenix
10-05-2004, 12:59 PM
using a hex wrench to snug the strip screw down. Apparently the ULE bodies are sensetive to different torques on the body screws and causes them to warp slightly which can lead to bolt stick. Another though, have you tried turning up the velocity nut? I've noticed that my Mag's bolt will stick when I first run paint through it if the Reg isn't set up high enough.

gulf
10-06-2004, 02:13 AM
I think you are right about the strip screw I put a straight edge along the top of the valve and ule body and when I tighten the strip screw and check again the valve has moved lower than the body. Is this something that I will develop a feel for. This would make cence because it worked fine when I got it but after I cleaned it that's when the problems started. I'll check in the mourning and try to recreate the problem with differn't torque's on the strip screw. thanks

gulf
10-08-2004, 08:48 PM