PDA

View Full Version : automag or cocker?

zepp21
10-12-2004, 03:38 PM
OK im new to automags/minimags. I was looking at getting a cocker but the place sold it. So i found this mag that i really like. I have a couple of questions though. What is the main difference between a cocker/mag?, how does a mag work? how do u cock a mag? will a mag work with co2? is a mag just as fast? is a mag upgradeable? and is a mag hard to maintain/clean?..thanks for the help.

zepp

|GB|
10-12-2004, 03:43 PM
OK im new to automags/minimags. I was looking at getting a cocker but the place sold it. So i found this mag that i really like. I have a couple of questions though. What is the main difference between a cocker/mag?, how does a mag work? how do u cock a mag? will a mag work with co2? is a mag just as fast? is a mag upgradeable? and is a mag hard to maintain/clean?..thanks for the help.

zepp

The main difference is that the 'Cocker uses pneumatics to re-cock. I believe the 'Mag uses a blow-forward design. You dont cock a 'Mag. Yes, it will work on CO2, but make sure your tank has an anti-siphone tube. It's just as fast as a 'cocker, as long as the cocker isn't E-bladed or anything. Yes, it's upgradable. 'Mags are probably one of the easiest markers to maintain, just drop a couple drops of oil in your ASA, and valve after each day of play, and it will treat you well.

sithos
10-12-2004, 03:46 PM
first, before anyone gets rude and yells "YOU DONT COCK AN AUTOMAG!" ill let you in on a little secret....

Secondly.. mags and cockers are very very similar, in that they both fire paintballs, and have the word auto in their names. other than that, not much compairson.

Personally, if you are sticking with mechanical operation (not electro), then mags own. Mags are very very easy to take care of, where as cockers can be a hastle if you have to time it, or if you plan to upgrade it.