PDA

View Full Version : getting sponsered?

TeeJay11
01-13-2005, 09:01 PM
Hey I have been playing rec ball for like 4 or 5 years now, and 4 of my friends are serious about starting a team. we have played at some local places, like capt'n carls(deleware) and del hobbies(NJ) and we did really well against some older guys (we are all around 16-17) and actual sponsored teams and such, we actually played a "decent" team and tore them up. but thats besides the point, how do we manage to get a sponsordhip or just get into a tournament? wat kinds of things does a team need to do to enter a tourny?

Chronobreak
01-13-2005, 09:04 PM
SEARCH "how to get sponsord"

few threads on this already

WElcome to AO

SAW
01-13-2005, 09:04 PM
Sign up/pay for tourney. Your best bet is to check with local fields. Play there, meet the locals and most importantly: say what YOUR team can do for THEM.

TeeJay11
01-13-2005, 09:09 PM
ah ha....good point, and what kinds of things are feild owners/sponsors looking for from a team

B.A.M.
01-13-2005, 09:16 PM
If you can win and market there products so they can earn a profit so it get noticed in a + light

tony3
01-13-2005, 09:26 PM
I know quite a bit about this subject, as I have had teams with zero sponsors and my latest team has numerous. First off, you can't get a halfway decent sponsor if you don't win tournies. To enter a tourney it is simple. Find one, call for information, register, and then show up that day. Check out the fields and get a strategy and win. First tourney you never really know what is going on, after that you will know exactly what to do. You got to be able to show a sponsor you have something to offer.

Once you have a decent record, and by decent I mean atleast 4-6 tournies with high places, 1st thru 8th I'm going to say. Start just calling around for sponsors. Make sure you act proffesional. Make your team seem permanent(sp?). Sponsors want dedicated teams.