PDA

View Full Version : A possible solution the HES / 4.X problem?

Vanced
01-17-2005, 02:48 PM
A possible solution the HES / 4.X problem?

I was sitting here reading up on the 4.X issues and the causes which seem to be based on the Hall sensor much more than the code which Miscue has pretty much perfected when something dawned on me.

I am a Mechanical/Design Engineer who works with sensors and pneumatics daily building assembly fixtures for an automotive supplier so I know all the logic behind them, and am often faced with an issue of one type of sensor doesn’t work and you have to choose another. But, I am not the shop rat I use to be and don’t know the inner workings of every marker out there anymore so I don’t know if this is being done yet. ((If it isn’t consider this part “prior art” for patent purposes))

But why not simply replace the Hall sensor with a pair of break beam optics or “eyes” that sense when a trigger pull breaks a plane?

I just pulled out my Keyence Vision Systems catalog and compared it some of the E-Mag frame schematics I had laying around and I think this should be something that can easily be retrofitted?

So my questions are: Is this being done out there anywhere currently, and do any of the other mechanically/electronically inclined folk among us deem this a possible solution?

If this is already out there and been proven unfeasible, I am sorry for the waste of bandwidth, but hey I am trying to be a problem solver and not just complain about it.

jekyll
01-17-2005, 02:52 PM
i believe raceframes already use break beams. I would assume that other companies don't use it because of patent reasons.

teufelhunden
01-17-2005, 02:58 PM
Raceframes use a trigger switch.

Optical triggers have already been used in paintball... just not with Airgun..

xXHavokXx
01-17-2005, 03:04 PM
Eblades use optical triggers as well as Newer Angels.

yakitori
01-17-2005, 03:45 PM
yup. OPTO trigger is like that.

Vanced
01-17-2005, 03:46 PM
Ok,