PDA

View Full Version : Car Nuts- I need help!!!!!

slateman
11-13-2001, 07:32 AM
Ok. I own an 86 Nova (stop laughing) The guy at the shop says it starting to burn oil and it would barely fail the emisions inspection. Is there anything I can do that could help clean up the engine so I could pass? I need this car so I can get to work and make money for a new car.

One option somebody suggested is to get an oil change and then head right over to get inspected. Any others like this?

shartley
11-13-2001, 07:38 AM
Yes, that might help a bit, but you may want to also put in some engine restore stuff (nope I am not a mechanic.. LOL), I have found that for quick fixes they do help a bit... but don't last like they SAY they will.

Sounds like you may need a whole seal and gasket replacement. Again.. I am no mechanic. And if that is the case... you will have to do it sometime anyway.... unless you don't want to keep driving you car.

slateman
11-13-2001, 08:05 AM
I only want to keep the car for a max. of six months. What is "engine restor stuff"?

And your right, I need a valve replacement. Wann take guess how much thats gonna cost....$1200:eek:

shartley
11-13-2001, 08:13 AM
You can pick it up at any Car Parts store. They come in bottles (and cans)... like oil. They supposedly help rework life back into your seals and stuff, stop leaks, etc... Like I said, it has helped cars of mine in the past for short amounts of time, but it does not last long. But again... I am not a mechanic. ;)

Snappy
11-13-2001, 11:06 AM
Another option I've heard (never tried) is to put a bottle of Everclear in the tank. Alcohol does burn cleaner, but the person who told the person who told me this works may have been sharing the Everclear with his car. :p

PigSweat
11-13-2001, 11:33 AM
K, DON'T put alchohol in the car! It burns much hotter and thus you can easily burn out rings and gaskets that aren't designed for those temperatures.