PDA

View Full Version : New To the Automag

scootermn
02-12-2005, 06:18 PM
Hi, :cheers: I'm considering an automag as my next gun, the question is though is that I am new to the Mag, What is a nice Mag to start out with, a 68 classic? What are some pitfalls or things I should watch out for when buying a used mag (being as this is the only way I can afford another marker) And for the last question, when I get the mag, is there anything I should do to it before firing, other than putting oil in the asa?

-Scooter

punkncat
02-12-2005, 06:39 PM
First off welcome to the forums.

A 68 classic is a good one to start with and is totally upgradable. Lvl 10 can be a bit tricky to mess with if you aren't mechanically inclined, but if you can read directions you are set. The X valve is wonderfully fast also....

BD_Paintball
02-12-2005, 06:48 PM
i would say to get a x-valve once you can. or just buy a used one with x-valve. the clasic valve can be annoying if you dont shoot it right b/c it will short stroke

EDIT: yay 1k posts

scootermn
02-12-2005, 06:51 PM
the level 10 is a bolt correct while the x-valve has a faster recharge rate, right? I should probably be looking in the BST forum right now to for a mag. . .

jtoothman25
02-12-2005, 06:56 PM
They are all a part of the valve. An Xvalve has level 10 built in. Level 10 is a way to not break paint.. It's so soft on paint, you can put your finger in there, and it wont hurt it. I've seen people try putting their tongue in the chamber to show how soft it is.... but I don't suggest trying that.

Buy a marker with Level 10, it's not very expensive after market too. Why do you want an Automag and not a spyder clone?

scootermn
02-12-2005, 07:20 PM
hmm, the question why do I want a mag. . .
1. It's different ( I love new things that are made so completly different than anything else)
2. Reliability
3. Upgrades!

So you can put a level 10 bolt in a 68 classic?

Might I add, thank you for your help!

BD_Paintball
02-12-2005, 07:25 PM