PDA

View Full Version : New to mags, need some guidance

cra2y86
03-08-2005, 09:43 PM
Well, this is my first AO post and I'm sure it's far from the last. I'm new to the world of mags, but not blow-forwards. I currently own a 1/1 factory anno'd ICD Desert Fox, which I love dearly, but I am frustrated with the lack of support for it. That said, I am selling it and building a mag. I've searched and read the "building mag" threads and I still have one question. What is the best mag to start out with? I don't plan on ever needing an X-Valve (I'm neither on a team nor play tournies), but I'd like to end up with a very respectable mag. Should I start out with a classic or a mini? RT? I plan on eventually getting an Intelliframe and ULE body. I'm most confused about internals... what can be used with what... so that I don't end up having to re-trace my steps. Or would it be better and more cost-effective to build part-by-part? Thanks for any help in advance!

-cra2y

Lohman446
03-08-2005, 10:03 PM
As long as you do not get involved wtih Classic RT's (the exception to mags) basically all mags work with all mag rails with all mag frames with all mag valves etc - you can mix and match as long as we have no Classic RT parts in that mix.

But, as Rogue stated, you are much better figuring out what you want, and talking to him, or one of the other dealers on AO, about a package price, it will save you a lot of money. If you want to build it part by part the new offering of the classic by AGD is a good starting point, but as you upgrade... well, when your done you will have likely replaced every part except the rail and foregrip, and with the newest offerings perhaps both of those.

peewee
03-08-2005, 10:09 PM
For a classic go to http://www.whitewolfairsmithing.com/. Best deal on a new classic. Maybe the rumor I heard about the classic coming back wasnt ...... ;)

cra2y86
03-08-2005, 11:12 PM