PDA

View Full Version : In game BPS higher than chrono? Or "But I shoot an extra 99BPS in game"

Lohman446
03-30-2005, 08:32 AM
This is not meant to get into a discussion of why BPS is important or not important, this is meant to address what I feel is a myth that paitnball players throw around to make themselves feel better and show the difference between there "claimed" BPS and there proven BPS. I'm sure there are exceptions (I have seen them) but very very few people I feel can shoot over 15BPS and maintain that speed for more than 5 seconds.

Ok, I constantly hear people tell each other that BPS in game situations goes up due to the "excitement" of the game. Somehow they mythically gain +5 BPS for in game situations, so an average shooter over the chrono must be majestic on the field

Now I am no medical expert, but I think its time to call shenanigans on this claim. Doesn't the excitement of in game situations that people talk about sound like an adrenaline rush to you? Doesn't adreneline decrease fine motor skills?

The Effects of the Adrenal Response in Combat

(1) Loss of fine Motor control : When adrenaline is flushed into the bloodstream during a "fight or flight" episode, the individual often loses a good deal of their ability to control their limbs. This is especially true of "fine motor" skills such as many martial arts techniques demand. On the other hand, gross motor skills are much better retained under adrenal stress. This is one reason why we concentrate on programming gross motor skills into the student's body at RMCAT.

I call shenanigans on this mythical increase of BPS during a game situation and would like to assert that your BPS at the chrono is as high as you are going to get it, relaxed and concentrating only on the chrono. I will leave myself wiggle room and say this is likely true for about 99% of the people out there.

Discussion?

felony
03-30-2005, 09:36 AM
i think adrenaline plays a role.