PDA

View Full Version : I've been through so many markers.....(another ramble)

punkncat
04-14-2005, 09:10 PM
*sigh*

I have owned almost every marker out there. In retrospect I wish I had kept some of the markers that have been through my hands over that time. Not that many of them are state of the art like they were when I owned them, but just good solid, reliable, accurate markers. Like that Bob Long Milly that I invested so much money in, or the Freeflow Boxxer I built for less than $250. The custom Mag I put so much time in, and then parted....

When I started playing there was a certain mystique to high end markers. As if they did something magical for your game. The awe factor of walking on a field and getting to drool over all those technological gems. Some were as expected, many were less than expected. Some suprizes, some disappointments. Experiancing first hand the edge that some new piece of technology gave you, if only for a fleeting moment. The feeling you get from having the one and only, first one of something at the local....

I miss the feeling I had in those early days. The quality of my first high end marker, and its improvement on my game was phenominal. It may have been mental to some degree, but the honest difference made moving from a Spyder into my GX3 cocker was incredible. Suddenly I was able to hit the smallest piece of exposed equipment. I wasn't dealing with broken balls in the bolt, velocity spikes, all the other troubles that come with low end markers. But in spite of the higher end marker I got the sport was still pure and exciting to me.