PDA

View Full Version : thinkin about gettin a mag...

tippy baller
04-21-2005, 08:21 PM
ok im new to the whole automag thing and i figured this was a good place 2 start... as my name says i shoot a tippy... im gonna start playin in tournies soon and are lookin 4 a good gun 2 play tournies with... i dont want an electro so im lookin at mags cuz i dont like cockers and my ? is how much $ will it take to get an automag to tourney level???

ColdFuzion
04-21-2005, 08:26 PM
First, let me say welcome to AO. I use my Mag in tournies and it does fine. Try www.themagsmith.com and www.tunamart.com for cool mags prebuilt, or build your own on www.airgun.com (Airgun.com is a bit more pricy). If you buy a RT ULE Custom, you'll be tourney set. Look at the ULT Trigger Pull Kit. I have it on my mag, and I can walk the trigger with 850 PSI in (Preset tank, the trigger feels better at 950-100, though). Hope I helped some.

-Cold

tippy baller
04-21-2005, 08:28 PM
i thought how rts werent tourny legal?

personman
04-21-2005, 08:31 PM
It depends on what you consider tourney level. To me, 'tourney level' means absolutely nothing. I saw a brass eagle raptor at wal-mart being advertised as tourney level.

The ULE Custom is a great gun that's light and pretty quick due to the RT effect.

The tippmann really isnt that bad of a gun to play tourneys with, as long as you arent using the stock barrel. Man, that thing sucks.

Also keep in mind that you need a nitrogen tank with a mag so you're looking at an extra 100-200 for a tank and an extra maybe 40-100 if you dont already have an electric hopper.

You're looking at around $500 for the gun and then you need a hopper and tank.

If you wanna go a cheaper route, I reccommend a BKO. :)

Edit:
Tippmann RT's are not tourney legal. HOWEVER, AGD ReTro valves, ARE legal. Well, unless you make them illigal. ;)
They are two different things, work completely differently. Don't mix em up.

tippy baller
04-21-2005, 08:37 PM