PDA

View Full Version : [B]Tourny ref broke my teamates leg[/B]

.68bruise
04-30-2005, 12:16 PM
I have been holding on to this for few weeks now.
I played in a rookie 5 man tournament at a maryland field a few weeks ago. The rules were nppl and all rookie teams had to be complete novices with no prior tournament experience. One of our teammates could not make it so we just picked up a walk on who had little pball experience. During our second game his gun broke so he set it down and ran for the flag. I think the rule is that moving six feet from your gun eliminates you but being new to the sport he wasn't aware. He was almost at the flag when a ref tackled him and broke his ankle!
What do you guys think about this?

WingMan13
04-30-2005, 12:23 PM
Why the hell would the reff tackle him!?

Glickman
04-30-2005, 12:25 PM
as long as your friend was going after a flag, and not trying to hurt someone else, thats battery.

sure as hell press charges, do it before the statue of limitations, why would you wait? if you do persue, then that looks worse, should file withen 24 hours unless not physically able.

shartley
04-30-2005, 12:28 PM
The field is liable for that injury (if things happened as posted). That is not normal procedure. Refs should never touch a player unless it is to protect themselves or other players. And on the same note, players should NEVER touch a Ref.

In the situation you just described it would have been just as easy to let the player know by yelling at them or getting in their way… or even AFTER they grabbed the flag. There is no excuse to tackle a player who is not endangering another player (or Ref).

professor_chaos
04-30-2005, 12:31 PM
What he said ^^^^^ That's just crazy.

.68bruise
04-30-2005, 12:35 PM
I did not actually see it happen. Paul, who's ankle was broken, said he was tackled. The owner of the field said that the ref mistakenly collided with Paul while trying to remove his armband.
As far as legal action goes that is up to Paul.