PDA

View Full Version : What is THE best hose material?

Puddleglum
11-30-2001, 09:30 AM
Is Macroline the best?? Why?

Is Microline the best?? Why?

Is SS Line the best?? Why?

What are the best features of the above and what has the highest flow rate, ease of installation, etc.

markhauguel
11-30-2001, 10:06 AM
I am new to trusting macroline but now I do. Microline is only for things that will never get much above 800-900 psi. so not for tank to gun unless it is a low pressure reg or variable on tank. Stainless is rated to around 5000 psi and will probably never fail. Macroline works so easy and with the swiveling connectors alignment is a joy. There is thicker and thinner wall macroline though. Which is best depends on what best means. Stainless will last forever but it will forever be the same length and given that guns change with different setups new hoses have to be purchased. I have been using macroline lately. I like it but I have heard of the ends failing to stay in if the hose gets chewed up a little bit from putting together and taking apart too many times. I don't use microline on my mag though. There aren't many hoses (only one) so it is not a problem. I hope this helps, good luck.

Shaft
11-30-2001, 11:04 AM
Avoid Microline. It's too constrictive. That's what Tom Kaye told me and that's what I'll tell you.

I like braided line.

Muzikman
11-30-2001, 01:11 PM
MicroLine - The fittings have no preassure rating there for unsafe. The line is also to small so as Shaft pointed out, it's constrictive.

MacroLine - The fittings also have no pressure rating there for unsafe. The lines are about the same ID as steel braid, so air flow is not a problem.

Stainless Steel Braid - The safest, good air flow, and least amount of leaks.

I never use anything but Steel braid or hardlines. Any plastic tubing, no matter what the plastic is rated at is only pushed into the elbows, there for they can and will blow off.

davej946
11-30-2001, 01:17 PM