PDA

View Full Version : Consistency and the XValve

TAC-ELF
08-08-2005, 05:41 PM
Forgive me if I'm showing my newb-ness, but something just sunk in about how the XValve works and its bugging me a little. Please, I'm not trying to say the XValve sub-par or anything like that and I'm not trying to insult anyone.

I was just reading the page on Chrono-ing my first 'Mag: Brand new Tac-One. Paraphrased it says something along the lines of:

"With a X-Valve you fire a shot, hold the trigger back and quickly release a shot over the chrono. This simulates rapid firing. Since the valve recharges so fast, it should be tested this way. To test a X-Valve like a normal valve would give you incorrect readings."

This appears to be saying that if I take more than a few milliseconds to fire the next shot, my velocities will be off by a considerable margin and not necessarily predictable.

Am I reading this right? Remember, I'm a newb when it comes to 'Mags and this is very perplexing to me. Obviously the design is temperature sensitive -- but in this case due to not the outside temperature, but the temp of the air inside the gun. This is something I thought I left when I got rid of all my CO2 gear (though it is the opposite case for CO2).

I understand why the temp sensitivity is there -- friction builds up in the charge as it fills the regulator. However, as the temperature drops shouldn't the charge in the reg be filled back up to its proper pressure?

ScatterPlot
08-10-2005, 01:30 AM
You know I never thought about it that way. I'd be interested to hear some other comments on this as well, but here's my take-

I think that the odd chronoing procedure takes care of velocity spikes, and the spikes aren't as far out as you'd think- this is pure guessing, but I might guess somewhere in the range of 3-4 FPS. I think it's just so that you don't chrono at 298 on a cold gun, then after a game get hit for doing 303 or something.