PDA

View Full Version : Soldering.

SPECK
08-19-2005, 12:05 PM
Ok, I could not figure out why my Angel wasn't charging and I finnaly brought myself to opening up the charger.

I see a wire that is unattached from the board and need to reconnect it (obivously)

HOW do I do it? Soldering gun?

Muzikman
08-19-2005, 12:07 PM
a low watt soldering iron. 20w or so and a careful hand. I don't know what the inside looks like, but you have to make sure you don't run any solder points together. Your best bet if you have never soldered is to take it to someone who has.

SPECK
08-19-2005, 12:11 PM
I have 1/4 inch at most of distance between this point and the one next to it.

I think I could do it. I have never used one before though.

Muzikman
08-19-2005, 12:23 PM
Well, get a 20w from radio shack. You want an iron, not a gun. Pick up thin silver solder (Resin core if you have never soldered before). I would practice on something you don't care about before you try the charger. Soldering is not hard, but it is an art.

ultralight
08-19-2005, 12:28 PM
read alot of online tutorials, go to the bookstore and read books on soldering. and most importantly, go to the goodwill or thrift store and buy some cheap electronics to practice on.
this will help to farmiliarize you with the way solder acts and moves.

you might also want to get that "cold heat" soldering iron that you see on tv. they sell it at home depot now and it only costs a bit more than a quality soldering iron.

that's another thing, you want a soldering iron, not a gun, most guns are too big for what youre doing. if you decide to go with a soldering iron over the cold heat gadget then go to radioshack and get one specifically designed for electronics, just tell them what you're donig and they'll help you get what you need. you don't want to screw up your angel because you didn't use the right tool.

good luck.

edit: ha! same time, same response, nice.

SPECK
08-19-2005, 12:36 PM
Ok, thanks a bunch guys! :clap:

Jaan