PDA

View Full Version : help me pick a new mask, and i will be your friend.

wanna-b-ballin'
09-03-2005, 11:03 PM
I have alot to say, so bear with me...
i have had the same mask since i started playing paintball about 4 years ago. Its a JT spectra proshield. the only thing i'v done to it was to put in a thermal lense about a year and a half ago.
well today i decided to clean it because it badly needed it. especially in the lense frame and the foam.
the foam is permanently gross feeling, and somehow paint got inbetween the thermal lenses.

now i have been thinking about getting a new mask for a while. i saw an ER echo 20/20 in a magazine, and it kinda caught my eye. but from what i have read on the internet, they have no chin protection if your mouth is open.

i compared my spectra to my back-up crappy scott mask and to my brothers v-force shield.
my results are that i like how the foam is on the v-force shield is, but the part that covers your nose on it sticks up too high, and interferes with my vision if i am peeking around corners and stuff. the mask is heavier, which feels strange, and i can see the rim of the lense all the way around when i am looking straight. i dont feel as though i can see well with that mask.
with the scott mask, it doesn't fit my face right; feels like the strap is trying to pull the mask downward. love the weight on it and i can see great with it on. but i cant get past the fact that it looks horrable, fogs like mad, and is just a piece.

so can anyone compare the 20/20 to the spectra? pros/cons?

my requirements are that the mask:
-is light.
-doesn't restrict vision.
-easy to clean/ remove the lense.
-around $50 new.
-and has an effective form of anti-fog.

now that i think about it, those new JT masks might be the way to go, but i know nothing about them except that they most likely fit just like my spectra. is the lense easier to remove on those things?