PDA

View Full Version : anyone write there own programs?

maxama10
09-12-2005, 09:13 PM
just curious....i wish i could but i have to wait until next year till i can take c++ i know a little bit about html....but can anyone ?

quik
09-12-2005, 09:15 PM
I reccomend you learn a little more than " < a href = " before you dabble in C++.

Maybe.

Miscue
09-12-2005, 09:26 PM
I'm a programmer... what would you like to know?

HTML is not a programming language... nothing of value carries over from trivial HTML knowledge to an actual programming language. However, you need to know HTML well if you're making pages with like... objective perl or something.

Concentrate on learning somputer science and programming concepts/techniques - C++ is just a tool... the language itself is not important as compared to what is being expressed.

dave p
09-12-2005, 09:40 PM
im a programmer also. my current job doesnt require much in the way of real programming per se. i do a lot of sql and some plsql. plsql is a little closer to "programming". the funny thing is in school i only took 1 relational database course. turns out thats what i do day in day out. skills are transferrable. i do write some "tools" for myself. try to learn many languages, different tools are good for different things. dont wait for class. get a book and teach yourself, then you will be able to enjoy class when you take it. hell, if you learn some *nix, you wont even need to buy a compiler. C++ is as good a place as any to start, some will disagree but the way i see it, if you can learn C++ everything else is quicker(to code, not execute) and easier(except assembler). its a real programming language and will help you learn some good habits(or bad ones if you are lazy). things like VB will seem like a toy language after coding in C++.

Miscue
09-12-2005, 09:46 PM
I agree as well... C++ is good to start with but I think C is better. The closer it is to the machine level, the better. GCC!