PDA

View Full Version : APG, newbies, and articles. Going downhill? >

Vegeta
12-05-2001, 06:22 PM
I have a subscription to APG. Good mag. Lots of info.

I am not liking APG reccently though.. alot of articles about new teams and "My first Game" kinda crap. I couldn't give a..(Look! I didnt say it!) about newbies. Really.. I wanna see articles about and interviews with pro teams and their commentary.. not Johnnie Newbie and

"how in his 1st game Last Saturday he shot Sally but then Sally got Nick and then later He got Sally and snuck up on her and... (takes breath) and it was so exciting and we had our brand new Stingrays and... did I mention this was all last Saturday?"

Yea. I liek to see that there are new players to the sport.. but I like to look forward.. not backwards. (you look backwards too long, guess what happens? Thats right.. you run into a tree.)
I wanna see stories I havent heard 100 times (admit it, all "My First Game" stories are alike.. all of ours)
I dont wanna know how Johnnie Newbie snuck up on Sally to win the game. I wanna know how Adam Pro-bie (I am coining that term.. If you use it, you must give credit to me :) )
kicked empty boxes at the NPPL Las Vegas Tourney and how his team went to win 2nd in the division...

I read two articles in Nov. APG. One was about "Reffing Skyball" (im sure alot of you read it) I loved it.. really interesting.. and again.. about a big pro event.
Then I read somethign about some new team and how they just came about. I didnt get through it. Dry as a bone. No information for me, really. Now, an article about team building I would have read.. but abour some guys personal experience with 5 friends in da woodz behind Jimmies shed? No.

I have went to far. Anyone agree? I AM NOT dissing new player. Glad to see so many coming in. But Id ratehr not hear about it. Just venting a bit.

BobCon
12-05-2001, 06:51 PM