PDA

View Full Version : Please help me at being a better haggler

Evil1
11-08-2005, 01:55 AM
Like the title says, I am probably going to be picking up a semi-expensive car within the next few weeks and I need some tips from some people that have bought cars from a dealer in the past. The car I'm going to buy is from a registered dealer and it happens to be the first time I'm buying a car from a real dealer, not some mechanic w/ a used car business on the side. I'm not trying to go there and save 10k or nothing, but I've been told by a couple people that you can save a few hundred on a car if you know how to haggle. I have no experience haggling and would like some tips on how to haggle without being disrespectful to the salemen or flat out pissing him off. The reason why I ask of this here on AO is that I know that there are some posters with brains and they've been around the block a few times. Any help is appreciated.

nippinout
11-08-2005, 02:39 AM
link (http://www.carbuyingtips.com/)

link (http://auto.consumerguide.com/) (This site has dealer invoice prices for vehicle and options. Consumer Reports makes you pay money.)

I used those sites when I was looking at getting a car.

Go into the dealer informed. It's hard to not get wrapped up in the excitement. Remember, the dealer wants your money and business. You can walk away at any time. Make an offer, and haggle. Get a financing plan offer. Then go to another dealership to see if they can beat it.

A little tip is to not go into the dealer with any appointments/errands to do right after. If you aren't rushed, you can be relaxed- don't go in hungry and having to go to the bathroom in the middle of it all.

Go in with an initial offer already planned out. Use the worksheets from the carbuyingtips site. And with the initial offer planned out, have a maximum offer also that you will not go over.