PDA

View Full Version : Big Game Thoughts

ramennoodles
12-19-2005, 05:46 PM
Preface: If this is in the wrong forum, sorry, please just tell me.

After an off year (to say the least), The paintball field where I play has decided to step it up for the next year. I got together with mike (the owner) on saturday and proposed a big game for the spring to sort of kick things off. He thought the idea was great, and told me to run with it.

So here is the problem, I have never been involved in big games before. I ahve never played in a big game, much less organized one. So I am looking to you guys for help, if you would be so kind.

What I need:

-Ideas for a plot, not too complex, but enough to get people intrigued.
-Experiences that have made big games fun for you (things like how they ran it, prizes lunch break?)
-Things that made it bad(long air lines, bad reffing staff?)
-Remedies for things that made it bad?

I'm really a beginner in this aspect so please bare with me. Thanks for all of your help in advance.

-Isaac

Chris_automag_07
12-19-2005, 05:56 PM
up....that'll be $1.00

pachytriton
12-19-2005, 06:49 PM
It really depends on the scale of what you're doing. You need to have the right amount of people for the right size field for it to really work. Raffles are always fun. Plot-do whatever, make it funny. For the game itself you need to decide if you want it to be more scenario or mob. I go to 3 big games a year at one field in new hampshire where they open the whole field with 2 teams and have flag stations at either ends. They have spawnpoints at the flags and by the staging area. Players can respawn until the last fifteen minutes of each hour long game. It usually works well but too many players cheat because there aren't enough refs to cover the entire place. They usually get a turnout of about 800. At the end they put everyone in a big airball field-the paint :cuss: rains.

Chris_automag_07
12-19-2005, 07:10 PM
Thanks a ton man.

KJHawley