PDA

View Full Version : What ever happened to Taking your Time

Puddleglum
12-11-2001, 12:02 PM
Paintball has become a sport of flashes, streaks, and milliseconds. The guns produced can put an entire case of paint on a bunker in 30 seconds. The question now is not "can you hit that guy" but "will you be able to tell that was a person when you're done?"

I remember when I was a Newbie, I could go a whole 5 games on 200 paintballs. I took my time and made sure of my shot. I guess you could say I moved:p But now we spend hundreds and perhaps thousands of dollars making our guns accurate and then don't even try to use the accuracy. Or we spend the money making our guns 'fast' and don't even try to make two or three shots count. Don't get me wrong, I love watching and eMag or A**el at work, its breathtaking. But we as paintball players ought to take some time, sit back and watch, and realize that paintball is not "one case one kill". If you've spent your money making your gun a consistant, accurate, paintchucking machine, use the accuracy. Don't just rely on probability to make you "better".

Well thats all my rambling, tear away.

beam
12-11-2001, 02:53 PM
Originally posted by Puddleglum
... The guns produced can put an entire case of paint on a bunker in 30 seconds. ...

Let's see... 2000/30 = 66.66666666666666667 bps

WOW! Can I buy one of those markers!?!?!?!!? ;)

No seriously. I see your point, but paintball is like a lot of other things...people prefer different things. Some love woods, some will only play speedball wearing a bright colored jersey, others prefer both.

I think it is the people who enjoy both that get the most out of paintball.

Puddleglum
12-11-2001, 03:40 PM
Sorry about the math. What can I say, I'm failing high school algebra. But I agree with you on the perspectives of the individuals. And how they play.

headcase
12-11-2001, 04:04 PM