PDA

View Full Version : Lighten bolts for angels?

zads27
12-11-2001, 07:52 PM
I know the Angel bolts are pretty light already, being made of mostly delrin, but if I took off the excess material off the bolts, keeping the original seals between the bolt and body, do you think it would reduce my recoil, as it does in the e-mag?

I realize I'm not gonna have any mag superbolt type difference in felt recoil, since it's already so light, but hey whatever helps- helps, right?

Any problems you can think of arising from this? Any comments, suggestions, etc,.? I'm a bored college student on vacation, so yeah.. I have time to screw with this kinda stuff.

Butterfingers
12-11-2001, 07:58 PM
that recoil is from the hammer inside the gun not the bolt...

zads27
12-11-2001, 09:01 PM
yes, that's pretty true.. so does anyone know why WDP or some aftermarket company hasn't come out with a lighter hammer?
they have the stock brass one, and the stainless steel one, i know, which supposedly cuts down on brass shavings.. so does the stainless steel one actually increase recoil since it's probably heavier?

Butterfingers
12-11-2001, 09:22 PM
just gotta see which one weighs more. Or is more dense.

The answer is in the density of the 2 metals... see which one is more dense.

zads27
12-11-2001, 09:59 PM
hm, i'm pretty sure stainless is heavier than brass, but i have another question now.

does the rear face on angel bolts have to be flat? cause there is a lot of material on the rear of the bolt i can take off, though i'm not sure if it will negatively affect the functioning of the marker. As far as I can tell, it won't cause any problems.. anyone know?

Butterfingers
12-11-2001, 10:49 PM
if it aint broke dont fix it.

I doubt it would do much other than voiding any existing warantee you might have on it.

Brain Donor
12-12-2001, 12:49 PM
I know they make Titanium Hammers for Angels. Thing is, there's a reason those hammers are so heavy - momentum.