PDA

View Full Version : old school mag upgrade?

kenb
01-09-2006, 01:15 AM
Hey Everybody,

I've been playing on and off since 90-91 and have been using an automag I bought from my future wife. We're married now and I bought the automag form her around the fall of 95, and she bought it sometime between 91 and 93 I think. The only serial # I seen on the valve reads CF00502 if that means anything. The gun is basically stock. It has the original barrel and frame, the only thing I've upgraded is the bolt and I'm using compressed air instead of co2.

It still works great, but I've had some not so great experiences lately with paint breaking in the crown point barrel, and or chopping balls, since I'm trying to keep up with some of the electrics. So I'd like to get some upgrades, a newer barrel, and I'm not sure if I should go to the level 10, the x-valve or the rv, or if they are all variations of the same. I appreciate any advice on what upgrades to get, and where I should get the upgrades from. I'd also like to not spend a lot of money, or at least spend less than it would take me to buy a new gun, if that's possible.

thanks,

kb

Oldest Sage
01-09-2006, 06:38 AM
A level 10 should take care of your needs.

buzzboy
01-09-2006, 07:02 AM
Lvl 10 and a good 2 finger trigger like chimera, intelli, Y, Z or benchmark.

Pacifist_Farmer
01-09-2006, 08:40 AM
First Step:

Used x-valve (those usually come with a lvl X)
New frame (intelliframe would be fine)

Total approx. = $250

2nd Step:

ULE Body
Cocker Threaded Barrel kit

Total approx. = $200

The first step is probably enough, but by the time you've spent the two amounts you might as well have purchased a new Mag.

KayleAGD
01-09-2006, 08:50 AM
STOP !!!! c00502 is an old gun , if it has not been upgraded it may be level 5 or 6.

could you take a picture of the power tube end of the valve so we can tell what level the valve is..

thanks
Kayle

Arstron
01-09-2006, 09:04 AM