PDA

View Full Version : What can I do?

Doc Holiday
12-15-2001, 12:10 PM
Hi all, this is my first time posting to this board.

I own a Mini-Mag right now, it's a little old I think because it doesn't even have any stars on the A.I.R. Valve. I kind of like the thing, i mean it's light, simple, and can be made smaller than any other marker I know of. Here's the trouble, I just don't know how I can stay competative with it. I mean, it's a powerfeed body and it has the regular A.I.R valve. I'm installing a Mako E-Grip for it but even still I worry a bit about it breaking balls (Especially the brittle ones you find at some tourneys). I currently have a Freak Barrel for it but i'm concerned with the ROF issue.
I know that you should make every shot count, but let's face facts... those of us who have played tourney's know that if you can't keep up ROF wise then you are going to have a tough time. I'm sure the e-frame will help in the ROF area if I can get it adjusted and working properly but what about shoot down? Now, I could just buy a Retro Valve but that could damage the solenoid on the e-grip. The other thing is that i'm getting the e-grip for free. The valve is $300. If i'm going to shell out that kind of money, wouldn't it be better to add a few hundred dollars and get something like the Matrix?
I'll be honest, i've had my mag and my cocker for the same amount of time and I almost always use my cocker and leave the mag as a back up. Mostly because the mag has been stock and the single trigger just doesn't do it for me.
I guess what i'm wondering is this. Do you think the Mako frame will help and what suggestions do you have that would help me so that i'd want to play with my mag instead of wanting to sell it.
Thanks in advance for those of you that post with useful replies.

Please don't get me wrong, I like my Mini-Mag but it just seems like it might cost too much to try and upgrade it to compete with other markers that are coming better equipped stock.